TAX SALE INFORMATION

Buffalo County, Nebraska

The following is subject to change and does not constitute legal advice. You may refer to Nebraska Statutes (Section 77-1801-1904) for information on the tax sale certificate process. Buffalo County Treasurer's Office will not provide legal guidance.

BUFFALO COUNTY PUBLIC SALE DATE – MARCH 3, 2025

Buffalo County Courthouse 1512 Central Ave, Kearney, NE 68847 9:00 a.m.

Check in will be from 8:00 to 8:45 at the Buffalo County Treasurer's Office

REGISTRATION

Pre-Registration is strongly advised.

Registration for the sale will begin the Monday before the sale. In order to register and participate in the Buffalo County Tax Sale, you will need to provide the following:

- Completed Buffalo County Tax Sale Registration Form.
- W-9
- \$25.00 Registration Fee for each bidder nonrefundable.
- Blank Check for the purchase of certificates.
- Nebraska Statute (77-1807) requires every entity or person to pay a non-refundable registration fee of \$25.00 prior to the sale in order to participate. The fee is not refundable upon redemption. There is a limit of 25 bid numbers per company/individual.
- We will allow companies/individuals to purchase multiple bid numbers, but request only one person attend the sale regardless of bid numbers purchased. We can advise you how to make this work.
- Thursday morning before the sale, random bid numbers will be drawn for those who are registered. Your bid numbers will be supplied to you after the drawing, or, to your representative at check-in the morning of the sale.

TAX SALE

- The sale will be conducted in a round robin format in accordance with State Statute 77-1807.
- On Wednesday prior to the sale, an updated list of available parcels will be on the Buffalo County Website (Treasurer's Page.) The updated list will be in dollar descending order. ***PLEASE NOTE: Everyone MUST work from this updated list. We will not adjust the speed of the sale to accommodate the use of other lists.
- Dollar amounts on the list do not include delinquent interest or fees. Asterisks represent more than one delinquent tax year and an earlier redemption date on certificates.
- Cell phones must be turned off. We will not hold the sale if you need to step away.
- It is your responsibility to know what you are buying. There will be no refunds after the sale.

TAX SALE CERTIFICATE PROCESSING

- Tax Sale Certificate Fee The fee to purchase a tax certificate is \$20.00 per tax certificate. The fee is not refundable upon redemption (77-1823)
- If taxes get paid PRIOR to the certificate issuance, we will not issue a certificate.
- Once the tax sale certificates have been processed, we will send the buyers, by certified mail: Copies of the original certificates, paid tax receipts and the check; redemption checks if any certificates get redeemed before the mailing is sent.
- We hold original certificates in our office.
- No Duplicate Certificates or Receipts to you or other providers without charge.

REDEMPTIONS

Certificates will be issued in the name that was designated at registration. 14% interest is paid from the date certificate is processed to the date of redemption. Upon redemption you will receive a copy of the redemption certificate and certificate and a check for your original tax payment(s), interest, plus reimbursable fees, if any, by mail. Registration fees and certificate fees are non-refundable.

SUBSEQUENT TAX PAYMENTS

Buyers should purchase subsequent taxes on or after May 1st and September 1st by sending parcel numbers and certificate numbers, and a blank check.

Subsequent tax amounts may be found at the website: nebraskataxesonline.us

We will not calculate interest for late payments or payoffs.

BANKRUPTCY

Taxes for properties that we know are in bankruptcy will not be sold. We will not guarantee that you will be notified of future bankruptcy.

When bankruptcy is declared, we recommend you obtain advice from an attorney.

The Buffalo County Treasurer's Office staff will not provide legal advice.

If you are receiving funds directly from the bankruptcy trustee for a claim that was filed on your tax lien, you must inform our office.

TREASURER'S DEEDS AND FORECLOSURES

The tax sale certificate is held for a three-year redemption period after the original tax sale date. The date will be indicated on the certificates you purchase. You are advised to obtain an attorney's advice if you choose either a foreclosure action or a treasurer's deed. There are statutory timelines for both methods, and if not met you will be at risk of losing your investment.

One of your statutory responsibilities is to notify the Treasurer's Office if a foreclosure action is filed. Failure to do so could result in not receiving various foreclosure fees.

If you have further questions, please email treasurer@buffalocounty.ne.gov.